Tuesday, February 2, 2010


(Photo - 1960 Golden Gloves Boxer as a Victoria Coach in 1974 and boxers Ian Weir and Brian Zelley ).............................

A GOLDEN GLOVES "Golden Anniversary" - By Brian W/ Zelley, B. Com. CA.................................

As we look forward to the 2010 BC Golden Gloves, to be hosted by the newcomers CAPITAL CITY BOXING CLUN and
sanctioned and officiated by the BRITISH COLUMBIA AMATEUR BOXING ASSOCIATION - BOXING BC, of significance
is the fact that 2010 marks the 50th. Anniversary of the 1960 BC GOLDEN GLOVES. Of significance for Greater Victoria
is the interesting result of ALAN CURTIS of the Esquimalt Boxing Club earned the Special "Golden Boy" Award.
Also, it was announced that the Esquimalt coach NICK LYSTAR along with the South Hill Boxing Club coach BERT LOWES
would be the Team BC coaches for the Canadian Olympic Trials in Montreal.

For Vancouver Island, the 1960 tournament was also significant because a double award winner was Chemainus boxer
SKIMP WILLIAMS. He would win for the "Most Aggressive" and his earlier bout with FRANK JORDISON was declared the best bout. William's final scrap with BILL ADAMS in the finals was won by Adams, but was enough to make Adams the
Golden Boy runner-up. In his prelim bout, Adams stopped MIKE CAIRD. Mike would bounce back in 1963 to win
in his division, but in the 1964 Vancouver Island Championships, Caird was stopped by RIFLEMAN WALSH.

The 1960 Golden Gloves champions were:
Tommy Black, Tony Lalich, Mickey Mazur, Winnie Schelt, Bill Tsuchiya,
Bill Adams, Bob Ginetti, Al Curtis, Lindy Lindmoser and Paddy Clark

Runner-ups were:
Dick Huber, Merritt Bisson, Ernie Falconer, Adrien Charron, Bill Caulson,
Skimp Williams, Norman LaRue, Harry Hinz, Darrell Elmore and VicVieberg.

1 comment:

  1. OTHER BOXERS in the 1960 Tournament:

    John Getz, Bruce Baillie, Mickey MacMillan, Gordie McGaw,
    Gordon Rabey, Bob Williams, Jim Banki, John Pringle,
    George James, Roy Cameron, Danny Daniels, Fritz Breismeister,
    Mike Caird, Jim Beswick, Jim Marshall, Danny McDonald, Frank Jordison,
    Robert Hamilton, Frank Toka and Wayne Carey.